Chapter 28: A Chosen Instrument

Acts 9:15     But the Lord said to Ananias, “Go! This man is my chosen instrument to proclaim my name to the Gentiles and their kings and to the people of Israel.”

We read in the book of  Acts that Saul (later re-named Paul) breathed “murderous threats” against the Lord’s disciples.  He looked for men and women who were followers of Christ and put them in prison.  He approved the stoning death of  Stephen,……and yet……he was God’s  “chosen instrument”.

God chose Saul (Paul) who had a strong personality and the conviction to do what he thought was right.  Even though Saul was doing harm to Christ’s followers, God chose this man to do what  He needed accomplished.   It didn’t seem to matter that he was  going the opposite direction!

It makes me wonder– what sort of “instrument” am I?    Am I willing to change my direction for God’s purposes?

Some folks may be chosen instruments for teaching, some for encouraging and helpfulness, and maybe some are chosen just for peace.  Whatever our talent, may all of us remain willing to be used as an instrument for God’s purposes.

Judy Lambert

Leave a comment

Filed under Judy Lambert

Leave a comment